Skip to content
College Path Hub

Johns Hopkins University

Baltimore, Maryland · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$18,809What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
6%
Graduation rate
94%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
5,693
In-state tuition
$65,230Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$65,230
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$87,555Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$18,809

Better than 72% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

94%

Better than 98% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$87,555

Better than 94% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$10,250

Better than 98% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$85,947

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$18,809

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Johns Hopkins University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time94%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return98%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$10,250
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$87,555

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Johns Hopkins University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer and Information Sciences, General$109,514171
Mathematics$83,171102
Economics$78,181140
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$76,928108
Chemical Engineering$51,26781
Research and Experimental Psychology$49,035100
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$46,455Not reported
International Relations and National Security Studies$44,00480
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$43,52426
Cognitive Science$42,60242
Public Health$36,540177
Neurobiology and Neurosciences$28,108126
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences$24,352185
Human Biology$19,91629
Music$16,47984
Mechanical EngineeringNot reported40
Applied MathematicsNot reported37
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported36
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported28
ChemistryNot reported27
Biology, GeneralNot reported27
Natural SciencesNot reported25
PhysicsNot reported23
SociologyNot reported23
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported22
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringNot reported21
HistoryNot reported18
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported14
Behavioral SciencesNot reported12
Computer EngineeringNot reported11
Materials EngineeringNot reported11
PhilosophyNot reported11
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported9
DanceNot reported9
Area StudiesNot reported9
Audiovisual Communications Technologies/TechniciansNot reported9
Environmental/Environmental Health EngineeringNot reported8
AnthropologyNot reported7
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported5
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported5
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
ArcheologyNot reported2
Civil EngineeringNot reported2
Engineering MechanicsNot reported1
Engineering, GeneralNot reported1
Systems EngineeringNot reported1
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported1
Public AdministrationNot reportedNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reportedNot reported
Mathematics and Statistics, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reportedNot reported
Information Science/StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Business/Commerce, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reportedNot reported
Physical Sciences, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingNot reportedNot reported
Industrial EngineeringNot reportedNot reported
Psychology, GeneralNot reportedNot reported

All 60 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges