Skip to content
College Path Hub

Ithaca College

Ithaca, New York · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$33,926What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
69%
Graduation rate
75%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
4,242
In-state tuition
$53,540Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$53,540
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$63,548Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$33,926

Better than 13% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

75%

Better than 83% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$63,548

Better than 74% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$24,000

Better than 57% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$68,699

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$33,926

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Ithaca College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time75%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return85%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$24,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$63,548

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Ithaca College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer Science$70,2397
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$48,24955
Business Administration, Management and Operations$46,306135
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$39,446119
Journalism$34,45320
Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences$32,79432
Public Health$32,1128
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$30,355124
Political Science and Government$28,84617
Biology, General$28,35123
Psychology, General$27,81447
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$26,44329
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$26,03226
Sociology$24,02622
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$23,782112
Music$23,11952
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$18,24355
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions$7,071121
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reported29
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesNot reported22
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported18
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported17
Non-Professional Legal StudiesNot reported11
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported11
Intercultural/Multicultural and Diversity StudiesNot reported10
HistoryNot reported9
Audiovisual Communications Technologies/TechniciansNot reported9
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reported9
Arts, Entertainment, and Media ManagementNot reported9
EconomicsNot reported8
ArchitectureNot reported8
AnthropologyNot reported7
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported7
ChemistryNot reported6
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure StudiesNot reported5
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyNot reported5
PhysicsNot reported4
PhilosophyNot reported4
MathematicsNot reported4
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported4
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported3
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported3
GerontologyNot reported3
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported2
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported2
Philosophy and Religious Studies, OtherNot reported1
Cultural Studies/Critical Theory and AnalysisNot reported1
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reported1
Engineering PhysicsNot reported1
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported1
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reportedNot reported
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported

All 52 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges