Skip to content
College Path Hub

Grand View University

Des Moines, Iowa · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$21,774What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
99%
Graduation rate
55%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,486
In-state tuition
$34,762Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$34,762
SAT midpoint
1,000
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$52,824Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$21,774

Better than 56% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

55%

Better than 42% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$52,824

Better than 45% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$22,500

Better than 69% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$48,522

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$21,774

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Grand View University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time55%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return70%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$22,500
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$52,824

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Grand View University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$64,04241
Accounting and Related Services$56,69219
Finance and Financial Management Services$51,29920
Business/Commerce, General$51,25131
Human Resources Management and Services$49,91712
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$46,54721
Criminal Justice and Corrections$45,17518
Marketing$45,05721
Biology, General$43,2377
Human Services, General$40,75018
Social Work$40,73615
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$39,99634
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$36,49546
Psychology, General$34,70928
Design and Applied Arts$26,9969
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported13
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reported13
Computer ScienceNot reported8
Data AnalyticsNot reported8
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported7
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported5
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reported5
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported4
Theological and Ministerial StudiesNot reported4
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported4
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported4
HistoryNot reported4
Legal Support ServicesNot reported3
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported3
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported3
Applied MathematicsNot reported3
International BusinessNot reported2
MusicNot reported1
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reported1
General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing OperationsNot reported1
BiotechnologyNot reported1
Public AdministrationNot reported1
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reported1
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, OtherNot reported1
JournalismNot reportedNot reported
Computer Software and Media ApplicationsNot reportedNot reported
Graphic CommunicationsNot reportedNot reported
Computer ProgrammingNot reportedNot reported
Business/Corporate CommunicationsNot reportedNot reported
Agriculture/Veterinary Preparatory ProgramsNot reportedNot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Hospitality Administration/ManagementNot reportedNot reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationNot reportedNot reported

All 49 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges