Skip to content
College Path Hub

Luther College

Decorah, Iowa · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$23,097What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
72%
Graduation rate
73%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,379
In-state tuition
$52,120Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$52,120
SAT midpoint
1,203
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$59,850Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$23,097

Better than 47% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

73%

Better than 80% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$59,850

Better than 67% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$27,000

Better than 4% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$65,461

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$23,097

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Luther College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time73%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return77%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$27,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$59,850

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Luther College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$75,53331
Computer Science$63,76017
Accounting and Related Services$60,06811
Business Administration, Management and Operations$49,49131
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$45,69113
Music$45,36733
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$42,926Not reported
Communication and Media Studies$42,01210
English Language and Literature, General$38,49022
Social Work$30,37214
Psychology, General$30,302Not reported
Biology, General$29,35937
Political Science and Government$21,35818
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$19,23913
Research and Experimental PsychologyNot reported23
Information Science/StudiesNot reported21
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported15
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reported11
HistoryNot reported11
SociologyNot reported9
ChemistryNot reported8
MathematicsNot reported8
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported8
EconomicsNot reported8
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported7
AnthropologyNot reported7
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported7
StatisticsNot reported6
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported6
PhilosophyNot reported6
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported6
International/Globalization StudiesNot reported6
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported5
Public HealthNot reported5
PhysicsNot reported5
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported3
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported1
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Non-Professional Legal StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Cultural Studies/Critical Theory and AnalysisNot reportedNot reported
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
DanceNot reportedNot reported

All 43 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges