Skip to content
College Path Hub

Goucher College

Baltimore, Maryland · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$22,470What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
78%
Graduation rate
59%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
964
In-state tuition
$53,350Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$53,350
SAT midpoint
1,223
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$53,023Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$22,470

Better than 51% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

59%

Better than 50% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$53,023

Better than 46% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$26,000

Better than 28% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$70,544

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$22,470

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Goucher College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time59%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return79%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$26,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$53,023

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Goucher College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Economics$46,77410
Business Administration, Management and Operations$46,51119
English Language and Literature, General$32,5455
Psychology, General$31,46349
International Relations and National Security Studies$25,8684
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reported16
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported16
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported12
SociologyNot reported11
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported11
Biology, GeneralNot reported11
DanceNot reported10
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported10
Peace Studies and Conflict ResolutionNot reported8
HistoryNot reported7
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported6
Education, GeneralNot reported5
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralNot reported5
Mathematics and Computer ScienceNot reported5
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported3
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported3
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported3
Engineering ScienceNot reported2
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported2
PhilosophyNot reported2
PhysicsNot reported2
ChemistryNot reported1
MusicNot reported1
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reportedNot reported
Communications Technologies/Technicians and Support Services, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
MathematicsNot reportedNot reported
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported
Psychology, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reportedNot reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsNot reportedNot reported
Non-Professional Legal StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Area StudiesNot reportedNot reported

All 40 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges