Skip to content
College Path Hub

Gettysburg College

Gettysburg, Pennsylvania · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$31,490What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
39%
Graduation rate
83%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,099
In-state tuition
$66,640Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$66,640
SAT midpoint
1,355
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$71,517Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$31,490

Better than 16% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

83%

Better than 90% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$71,517

Better than 83% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$26,999

Better than 20% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$81,960

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$31,490

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Gettysburg College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time83%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return91%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$26,999
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$71,517

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Gettysburg College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer Science$74,64218
Economics$62,92556
Business Administration, Management and Operations$51,67386
Psychology, General$50,040Not reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$44,06830
Political Science and Government$43,32276
Research and Experimental Psychology$41,59953
English Language and Literature, General$40,60138
Philosophy$38,54413
Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences$37,97758
Sociology$36,39620
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$29,42824
History$28,49733
Music$27,55614
Biology, GeneralNot reported32
Public Policy AnalysisNot reported29
International/Globalization StudiesNot reported17
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported13
PhysicsNot reported12
MathematicsNot reported12
AnthropologyNot reported12
Area StudiesNot reported10
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported10
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported10
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported9
ChemistryNot reported8
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported4
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reported4
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported3
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported3
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported2
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reported1
Social Sciences, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Applied MathematicsNot reportedNot reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reportedNot reported

All 36 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges