Skip to content
College Path Hub

Mercyhurst University

Erie, Pennsylvania · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$19,444What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
81%
Graduation rate
59%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,191
In-state tuition
$45,770Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$45,770
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$47,452Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$19,444

Better than 69% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

59%

Better than 52% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$47,452

Better than 29% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,305

Better than 38% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$59,557

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$19,444

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Mercyhurst University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time59%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return80%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,305
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$47,452

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Mercyhurst University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$64,5197
Intelligence, Command Control and Information Operations$52,21159
Finance and Financial Management Services$49,25114
Business Administration, Management and Operations$47,21514
Special Education and Teaching$46,63627
Criminal Justice and Corrections$38,55730
Political Science and Government$34,7118
Hospitality Administration/Management$34,6758
Marketing$33,7839
Communication and Media Studies$32,7299
Psychology, General$31,86819
Biology, General$29,16728
Specialized Sales, Merchandising and Marketing Operations$29,07817
Design and Applied Arts$28,26723
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementNot reported30
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reported20
Security Science and TechnologyNot reported18
DanceNot reported12
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsNot reported11
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, OtherNot reported10
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported10
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported10
HistoryNot reported10
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsNot reported10
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported8
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported6
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported6
Public HealthNot reported5
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported5
Physiology, Pathology and Related SciencesNot reported5
AnthropologyNot reported5
Human Resources Management and ServicesNot reported5
Data ScienceNot reported5
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported4
MusicNot reported4
SociologyNot reported3
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reported2
Education, OtherNot reported2
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported2
InsuranceNot reported2
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported2
Area StudiesNot reported1
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported1
International BusinessNot reported1
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported1
Business/Managerial EconomicsNot reported1
ArcheologyNot reportedNot reported
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Mathematics and Computer ScienceNot reportedNot reported
PhilosophyNot reportedNot reported
Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational BiologyNot reportedNot reported
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Sustainability StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
MathematicsNot reportedNot reported
ChemistryNot reportedNot reported
PhysicsNot reportedNot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Social WorkNot reportedNot reported

All 60 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges