Skip to content
College Path Hub

Florida State University

Tallahassee, Florida · Public · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$11,297What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
24%
Graduation rate
84%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
32,212
In-state tuition
$5,656Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$18,786
SAT midpoint
1,260
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$61,675Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$11,297

Better than 76% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

84%

Better than 94% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$61,675

Better than 70% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$18,000

Better than 78% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$25,720

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$11,297

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Florida State University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time84%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return96%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$18,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$61,675

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Florida State University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer Engineering$78,94126
Industrial Engineering$76,42638
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$72,42532
Chemical Engineering$70,79727
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$69,997141
Civil Engineering$67,05091
Management Information Systems and Services$66,252128
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$62,57836
Mechanical Engineering$62,021110
Computer and Information Sciences, General$61,376376
Insurance$61,07197
Security Science and Technology$58,24945
Finance and Financial Management Services$56,516703
Accounting and Related Services$55,626137
Real Estate$55,257133
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$50,61079
Mathematics$49,91966
Marketing$49,808649
Business Administration, Management and Operations$49,325293
Design and Applied Arts$49,14433
Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations$48,625103
Statistics$47,34757
Business/Commerce, General$47,34226
Economics$47,304244
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$45,69687
Apparel and Textiles$41,13068
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$41,06084
Chemistry$40,62915
Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology$39,96728
Hospitality Administration/Management$37,330225
Geography and Cartography$35,60820
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$35,36162
Criminal Justice and Corrections$34,922554
Political Science and Government$34,745421
Sociology$33,78389
Social Sciences, General$33,235219
Social Work$32,60476
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$32,227238
International Relations and National Security Studies$32,098276
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$32,02715
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$31,68927
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$31,07459
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$30,146142
Psychology, General$30,140879
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$29,690246
English Language and Literature, General$29,534295
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$29,519151
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services$29,15834
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$28,60333
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$28,12756
History$27,94495
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$27,277133
Philosophy$27,07234
Fine and Studio Arts$26,785122
Biology, General$26,140357
Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences$23,574191
Dance$21,87718
Music$19,429109
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$18,43175
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$13,37188
Public HealthNot reported256
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported118
AnthropologyNot reported43
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities ManagementNot reported38
PhysicsNot reported37
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringNot reported36
Special Education and TeachingNot reported20
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported19
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported13
Area StudiesNot reported12
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsNot reported9
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported9
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported6
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported4
Computational ScienceNot reported4
Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational BiologyNot reported3
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported1
Curriculum and InstructionNot reportedNot reported

All 79 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges