Skip to content
College Path Hub

Dominican University

River Forest, Illinois · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$11,745What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
90%
Graduation rate
59%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,561
In-state tuition
$38,978Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$38,978
SAT midpoint
1,035
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$60,327Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$11,745

Better than 90% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

59%

Better than 51% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$60,327

Better than 68% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$24,411

Better than 54% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$43,891

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$11,745

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Dominican University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time59%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return78%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$24,411
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$60,327

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Dominican University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$70,53030
Accounting and Related Services$57,18720
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$45,92419
Business Administration, Management and Operations$45,04523
Criminology$31,75820
Sociology$31,65720
Psychology, General$30,84638
Specialized Sales, Merchandising and Marketing Operations$29,9078
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$29,10211
Natural Sciences$27,08128
Biology, General$26,01524
Design and Applied Arts$22,93811
MarketingNot reported26
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported22
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reported15
Finance and Financial Management ServicesNot reported14
Computer ScienceNot reported14
Nutrition SciencesNot reported13
Biological and Physical SciencesNot reported12
International BusinessNot reported9
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported9
HistoryNot reported9
Non-Professional Legal StudiesNot reported7
EconomicsNot reported6
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported5
MathematicsNot reported5
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationNot reported4
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reported4
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported4
JournalismNot reported4
Theological and Ministerial StudiesNot reported3
Information Science/StudiesNot reported3
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reported3
ChemistryNot reported3
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition ServicesNot reported3
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported2
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported2
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported2
Education, GeneralNot reported1
Culinary Arts and Related ServicesNot reported1
Entrepreneurial and Small Business OperationsNot reported1
Human Services, GeneralNot reported1
Mathematics and Computer ScienceNot reported1
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported1
PhilosophyNot reported1
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reportedNot reported
Area StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reportedNot reported
Special Education and TeachingNot reportedNot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reportedNot reported
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reportedNot reported
MusicNot reportedNot reported
Pastoral Counseling and Specialized MinistriesNot reportedNot reported
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Human Resources Management and ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Data ScienceNot reportedNot reported
Foods, Nutrition, and Related ServicesNot reportedNot reported

All 58 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges