Skip to content
College Path Hub

Denison University

Granville, Ohio · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$40,007What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
17%
Graduation rate
79%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,380
In-state tuition
$67,000Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$67,000
SAT midpoint
1,330
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$67,753Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$40,007

Better than 6% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

79%

Better than 87% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$67,753

Better than 79% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$26,000

Better than 28% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$81,900

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$40,007

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Denison University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time79%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return89%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$26,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$67,753

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Denison University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Economics$55,08778
International Business$53,51644
Communication and Media Studies$47,39651
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$42,99211
Research and Experimental Psychology$36,90945
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$36,23616
Political Science and Government$31,27221
Biology, General$31,01747
Sociology and Anthropology$23,75216
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported35
Data ScienceNot reported34
MathematicsNot reported21
Education, GeneralNot reported20
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reported19
HistoryNot reported18
Computer ScienceNot reported18
Public HealthNot reported17
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reported12
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported12
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reported8
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported8
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported8
PhilosophyNot reported7
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported7
PhysicsNot reported7
Area StudiesNot reported5
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reported5
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported5
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported5
MusicNot reported4
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported4
ChemistryNot reported3
DanceNot reported3
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported3
JournalismNot reported2
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported2
Applied MathematicsNot reported1
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reportedNot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reportedNot reported
Non-Professional Legal StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Psychology, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsNot reportedNot reported

All 42 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges