Skip to content
College Path Hub

Dalton State College

Dalton, Georgia · Public · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$5,012What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
Not reported
Graduation rate
28%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
4,553
In-state tuition
$3,336Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$10,656
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$40,251Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$5,012

Better than 97% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

28%

Better than 8% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$40,251

Better than 7% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$12,937

Better than 94% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$12,719

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$5,012

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Dalton State College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time28%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return71%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$12,937
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$40,251

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Dalton State College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$78,83019
Accounting and Related Services$51,84121
Business Administration, Management and Operations$43,42491
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$39,88950
Criminal Justice and Corrections$37,85633
History$32,89910
Biology, General$30,83942
Psychology, General$30,68824
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$29,59424
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported18
Social WorkNot reported18
MarketingNot reported16
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementNot reported14
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reported12
Finance and Financial Management ServicesNot reported10
ChemistryNot reported8
Geography and Environmental StudiesNot reported7
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reported6
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, GeneralNot reported6
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reported6
MathematicsNot reported5
Industrial Production Technologies/TechniciansNot reported1
Science Technologies/Technicians, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reportedNot reported
Computer Systems Networking and TelecommunicationsNot reportedNot reported

All 26 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges