Skip to content
College Path Hub

Connecticut College

New London, Connecticut · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$36,175What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
37%
Graduation rate
83%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,937
In-state tuition
$67,242Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$67,242
SAT midpoint
1,405
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$75,001Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$36,175

Better than 10% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

83%

Better than 90% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$75,001

Better than 86% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$23,500

Better than 60% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$84,623

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$36,175

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Connecticut College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time83%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return90%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$23,500
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$75,001

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Connecticut College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer Science$86,40332
Economics$62,73275
Political Science and Government$46,58843
International Relations and National Security Studies$45,54315
Area Studies$43,35819
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$41,60914
Biology, General$41,06722
Psychology, General$40,14155
Fine and Studio Arts$36,56417
History$34,65714
English Language and Literature, General$25,93620
Sociology$22,63623
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported28
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyNot reported27
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported16
DanceNot reported16
PhilosophyNot reported15
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported13
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported11
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reported11
MusicNot reported10
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported9
Botany/Plant BiologyNot reported8
AnthropologyNot reported8
ArchitectureNot reported7
PhysicsNot reported6
MathematicsNot reported6
StatisticsNot reported5
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
ChemistryNot reported3
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported2
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported1
Environmental/Environmental Health EngineeringNot reportedNot reported
Architecture and Related Services, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reportedNot reported

All 37 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges