University of Saint Joseph
West Hartford, Connecticut · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City
Official websiteAt a glance
- Average net price
- $27,989What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 79%
- Graduation rate
- 66%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 838
- In-state tuition
- $47,278Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $47,278
- SAT midpoint
- 1,109
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $59,908Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$27,9892/5
Better than 27% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).
Completion
66%4/5
Better than 66% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).
Earnings
$59,9084/5
Better than 67% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).
Debt at graduation
$27,0001/5
Better than 4% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$59,900
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$27,989
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 66% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 82% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $27,000 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $59,908 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | $86,555 | 81 |
| Psychology, General | Not reported | 23 |
| Social Work | Not reported | 18 |
| Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General | Not reported | 17 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | Not reported | 14 |
| Biology, General | Not reported | 14 |
| Special Education and Teaching | Not reported | 11 |
| Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services | Not reported | 7 |
| Criminal Justice and Corrections | Not reported | 7 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | Not reported | 6 |
| Accounting and Related Services | Not reported | 5 |
| English Language and Literature, General | Not reported | 5 |
| Public Health | Not reported | 5 |
| Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services | Not reported | 5 |
| Public Policy Analysis | Not reported | 3 |
| Radio, Television, and Digital Communication | Not reported | 1 |
| History | Not reported | 1 |
| Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology | Not reported | 1 |
| Mathematics | Not reported | 1 |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | Not reported | 1 |
| Computer Science | Not reported | 1 |
| Philosophy | Not reported | 1 |
| Political Science and Government | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General | Not reported | Not reported |
| International/Globalization Studies | Not reported | Not reported |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | Not reported | Not reported |
| Religion/Religious Studies | Not reported | Not reported |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | Not reported |
| Chemistry | Not reported | Not reported |
| Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | Not reported | Not reported |
| Fine and Studio Arts | Not reported | Not reported |
All 32 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
Albertus Magnus College
New Haven, CT
Also a private nonprofit four-year college in CT, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoMitchell College
New London, CT
Also a private nonprofit four-year college in CT, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoHoly Apostles College and Seminary
Cromwell, CT
Also a private nonprofit four-year college in CT, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of Bridgeport
Bridgeport, CT
Also a private nonprofit four-year college in CT, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two