Skip to content
College Path Hub

Centenary University

Hackettstown, New Jersey · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$20,503What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
83%
Graduation rate
56%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
910
In-state tuition
$37,732Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$37,732
SAT midpoint
1,080
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$53,726Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$20,503

Better than 64% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

56%

Better than 46% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$53,726

Better than 48% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$23,163

Better than 64% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$52,362

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$20,503

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Centenary University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time56%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return78%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$23,163
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$53,726

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Centenary University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$54,63340
Business Administration, Management and Operations$49,38170
Biology, General$44,3127
Criminal Justice and Corrections$37,25913
Agricultural and Domestic Animal Services$34,10419
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$32,98815
Sociology$32,0495
Research and Experimental Psychology$27,93314
Design and Applied Arts$26,5695
Communication and Media Studies$17,2745
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported10
Arts, Entertainment, and Media ManagementNot reported7
Social WorkNot reported6
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported5
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported5
Animal SciencesNot reported5
HistoryNot reported4
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported3
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsNot reported2
Security Science and TechnologyNot reported2
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reported1
Agriculture/Veterinary Preparatory ProgramsNot reported1
Agricultural Production OperationsNot reported1
Computer ScienceNot reportedNot reported
Special Education and TeachingNot reportedNot reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reportedNot reported
DanceNot reportedNot reported
Student Counseling and Personnel ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionNot reportedNot reported
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
MathematicsNot reportedNot reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reportedNot reported
Psychology, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reportedNot reported
Public AdministrationNot reportedNot reported
Political Science and GovernmentNot reportedNot reported
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reportedNot reported
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
MarketingNot reportedNot reported
Apparel and TextilesNot reportedNot reported
Radio, Television, and Digital CommunicationNot reportedNot reported
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reportedNot reported
Public HealthNot reportedNot reported
JournalismNot reportedNot reported

All 46 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges