California State University-Sacramento
Sacramento, California · Public · 4-year · City
Official websiteAt a glance
- Average net price
- $9,338What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 94%
- Graduation rate
- 56%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 28,350
- In-state tuition
- $8,018Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $20,618
- SAT midpoint
- Not reported
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $64,876Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$9,3385/5
Better than 86% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
56%4/5
Better than 61% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$64,8765/5
Better than 81% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$15,0005/5
Better than 87% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$22,945
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$9,338
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 56% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 82% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $15,000 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $64,876 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | $116,001 | 181 |
| Construction Engineering | $90,836 | Not reported |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $74,450 | 95 |
| Civil Engineering | $71,342 | 145 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $66,462 | 180 |
| Computer Engineering | $66,266 | 62 |
| Computer Science | $60,028 | 267 |
| Interior Architecture | $50,108 | 44 |
| Economics | $49,312 | 167 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $48,492 | 1,005 |
| Geography and Cartography | $48,227 | 37 |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | $46,689 | 28 |
| Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General | $44,162 | 416 |
| Chemistry | $42,581 | 18 |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies | $40,338 | 56 |
| Communication and Media Studies | $39,304 | 400 |
| Social Sciences, General | $39,061 | 21 |
| Criminal Justice and Corrections | $38,606 | 539 |
| Gerontology | $38,461 | 18 |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | $37,308 | 62 |
| Social Work | $37,290 | 186 |
| Biology, General | $37,192 | 307 |
| Sociology | $37,040 | 301 |
| Political Science and Government | $36,189 | 172 |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | $34,117 | 39 |
| Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General | $33,869 | 35 |
| Special Education and Teaching | $33,783 | Not reported |
| Psychology, General | $32,603 | 636 |
| History | $32,596 | 136 |
| English Language and Literature, General | $32,531 | 140 |
| Anthropology | $32,460 | 51 |
| Design and Applied Arts | $32,240 | 71 |
| Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services | $31,950 | Not reported |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | $31,901 | 318 |
| Mathematics | $30,851 | 49 |
| Journalism | $30,644 | 34 |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | $30,628 | 80 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | $30,286 | 150 |
| Philosophy | $29,326 | 21 |
| Apparel and Textiles | $26,968 | 21 |
| Music | $25,391 | 54 |
| Film/Video and Photographic Arts | $24,618 | 88 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | $23,000 | 31 |
| Communication Disorders Sciences and Services | $22,915 | 97 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $20,203 | 86 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | Not reported | 424 |
| Public Health | Not reported | 171 |
| Nutrition Sciences | Not reported | 89 |
| Construction Engineering Technology/Technician | Not reported | 79 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas | Not reported | 26 |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | Not reported | 14 |
| Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | Not reported | 12 |
| Physics | Not reported | 10 |
| Area Studies | Not reported | 9 |
| Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | Not reported | Not reported |
| Dance | Not reported | Not reported |
All 57 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
San Jose State University
San Jose, CA
Also a public four-year college in CA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of California-Irvine
Irvine, CA
Also a public four-year college in CA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoCalifornia State Polytechnic University-Pomona
Pomona, CA
Also a public four-year college in CA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of California-Davis
Davis, CA
Also a public four-year college in CA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two