Skip to content
College Path Hub

California State University-Fullerton

Fullerton, California · Public · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$6,555What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
91%
Graduation rate
70%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
38,546
In-state tuition
$7,470Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$20,070
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$62,951Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$6,555

Better than 94% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

70%

Better than 84% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$62,951

Better than 73% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$13,750

Better than 93% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$18,269

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$6,555

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for California State University-Fullerton
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time70%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return82%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$13,750
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$62,951

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at California State University-Fullerton by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$103,028333
Civil Engineering$72,60684
Mechanical Engineering$65,252127
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$63,46866
Computer Science$57,307371
Computer Engineering$55,09348
Information Science/Studies$49,897Not reported
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$49,830Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations$48,2562,134
International Business$45,41959
Chemistry$45,07623
Mathematics$44,90351
Economics$39,99341
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$38,86962
Public Administration$36,62624
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$35,56317
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$35,50927
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology$35,110Not reported
Public Health$34,909361
Sociology$34,714367
Criminal Justice and Corrections$34,570339
Communication and Media Studies$34,120647
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$33,493Not reported
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$31,857Not reported
Political Science and Government$31,711120
Philosophy$30,17120
Area Studies$29,31627
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$28,933399
Psychology, General$27,965992
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences$27,887Not reported
History$27,083116
Anthropology$26,79441
Geography and Cartography$26,04023
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$25,30526
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$24,706141
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$24,650154
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$24,594150
Dance$24,08712
Music$23,96961
English Language and Literature, General$23,783140
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$23,543542
Fine and Studio Arts$22,839433
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$22,72315
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$18,18299
Human Services, GeneralNot reported264
Biology, GeneralNot reported211
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported43
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reported25
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported15
PhysicsNot reported9
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported1
Engineering, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Botany/Plant BiologyNot reportedNot reported
Community Organization and AdvocacyNot reportedNot reported
StatisticsNot reportedNot reported
Arts, Entertainment, and Media ManagementNot reportedNot reported
Applied MathematicsNot reportedNot reported
Social WorkNot reportedNot reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported

All 61 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges