At a glance
- Average net price
- $12,470What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 27%
- Graduation rate
- 87%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 34,948
- In-state tuition
- $16,758Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $50,958
- SAT midpoint
- Not reported
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $84,943Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$12,4704/5
Better than 69% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
87%5/5
Better than 97% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$84,9435/5
Better than 97% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$15,5005/5
Better than 87% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$38,701
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$12,470
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 87% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 94% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $15,500 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $84,943 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | $112,006 | 518 |
| Computer Engineering | $96,256 | 174 |
| Mathematics and Computer Science | $89,651 | 299 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $80,687 | 189 |
| Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology | $76,592 | 75 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $69,555 | 147 |
| Biological/Biosystems Engineering | $67,016 | 21 |
| Civil Engineering | $65,478 | 93 |
| Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering | $65,401 | 87 |
| Biomedical/Medical Engineering | $65,045 | 92 |
| Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods | $60,973 | 273 |
| Chemical Engineering | $59,508 | 101 |
| Engineering, Other | $56,522 | 27 |
| Mathematics | $52,339 | 227 |
| Economics | $51,192 | 364 |
| Physics | $48,951 | 60 |
| Psychology, Other | $47,672 | 106 |
| Chemistry | $45,310 | 227 |
| International/Globalization Studies | $45,168 | 511 |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | $45,066 | 137 |
| Microbiological Sciences and Immunology | $43,608 | 61 |
| Applied Mathematics | $42,859 | 132 |
| Cognitive Science | $39,839 | 722 |
| Public Health | $39,144 | 338 |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | $37,524 | 73 |
| Urban Studies/Affairs | $37,074 | 33 |
| Statistics | $36,676 | 63 |
| Sociology | $36,464 | 150 |
| Biology, General | $34,504 | 316 |
| Visual and Performing Arts, Other | $34,401 | Not reported |
| Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services | $33,489 | 53 |
| Political Science and Government | $33,345 | 383 |
| Communication and Media Studies | $33,046 | 244 |
| Neurobiology and Neurosciences | $32,081 | 177 |
| Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology | $31,088 | 127 |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | $30,984 | 33 |
| Psychology, General | $29,144 | 350 |
| Anthropology | $28,543 | 71 |
| Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology | $26,953 | 218 |
| Philosophy | $24,669 | 39 |
| English Language and Literature, General | $24,523 | 37 |
| Research and Experimental Psychology | $23,420 | 103 |
| English Language and Literature/Letters, Other | $21,788 | 58 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $21,777 | 57 |
| History | $21,713 | 73 |
| Music | $21,592 | 15 |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services | $19,809 | 13 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | $18,026 | 63 |
| Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences | Not reported | 749 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | Not reported | 207 |
| Visual and Performing Arts, General | Not reported | 62 |
| Social Sciences, Other | Not reported | 56 |
| Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | Not reported | 53 |
| Education, General | Not reported | 52 |
| Real Estate Development | Not reported | 52 |
| Design and Applied Arts | Not reported | 20 |
| Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology | Not reported | 19 |
| Area Studies | Not reported | 19 |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | Not reported | 15 |
| Physical Sciences, Other | Not reported | 10 |
| Dance | Not reported | 9 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas | Not reported | 8 |
| Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering | Not reported | 6 |
| International Relations and National Security Studies | Not reported | 5 |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | 4 |
| Religion/Religious Studies | Not reported | 4 |
| Engineering Physics | Not reported | 3 |
| Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | 3 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | Not reported | 2 |
| Engineering Science | Not reported | Not reported |
| Zoology/Animal Biology | Not reported | Not reported |
| Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | Not reported |
All 72 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
San Diego State University
San Diego, CA
Also a public four-year college in CA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoCalifornia State University-Long Beach
Long Beach, CA
Also a public four-year college in CA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of California-Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA
Also a public four-year college in CA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of California-Berkeley
Berkeley, CA
Also a public four-year college in CA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two