Skip to content
College Path Hub

California State University-East Bay

Hayward, California · Public · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$9,320What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
97%
Graduation rate
47%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
9,809
In-state tuition
$7,583Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$20,183
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$71,401Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$9,320

Better than 87% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

47%

Better than 36% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$71,401

Better than 87% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$16,544

Better than 85% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$22,850

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$9,320

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for California State University-East Bay
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time47%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return76%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$16,544
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$71,401

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at California State University-East Bay by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$124,392107
Construction Management$99,64943
Computer Science$60,371175
Business Administration, Management and Operations$51,549734
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$47,51137
Economics$46,40824
Criminal Justice and Corrections$45,387166
Biology, General$44,370134
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies$43,70033
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$42,602188
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$41,195216
Political Science and Government$40,46048
Sociology$39,378186
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$38,87611
Psychology, General$37,702377
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$36,50989
Communication and Media Studies$35,72292
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$34,92439
Hospitality Administration/Management$34,01529
Fine and Studio Arts$33,220110
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$33,189152
History$31,05934
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported69
Public HealthNot reported54
StatisticsNot reported25
MathematicsNot reported22
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported16
Computer EngineeringNot reported16
MusicNot reported16
AnthropologyNot reported15
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported12
Industrial EngineeringNot reported11
ChemistryNot reported10
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported8
PhilosophyNot reported8
PhysicsNot reported7
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported6
International/Globalization StudiesNot reported6
Geography and CartographyNot reported5
Social WorkNot reported2
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Engineering, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Area StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reportedNot reported

All 45 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges