Skip to content
College Path Hub

California State University-Bakersfield

Bakersfield, California · Public · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$5,652What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
94%
Graduation rate
50%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
8,577
In-state tuition
$8,090Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$20,690
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$59,009Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$5,652

Better than 96% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

50%

Better than 41% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$59,009

Better than 64% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$16,600

Better than 85% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$19,522

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$5,652

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for California State University-Bakersfield
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time50%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return79%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$16,600
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$59,009

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at California State University-Bakersfield by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Business Administration, Management and OperationsNot reported362
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported317
Psychology, GeneralNot reported277
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsNot reported168
SociologyNot reported134
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported131
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported102
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingNot reported87
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported80
Computer ScienceNot reported65
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported62
HistoryNot reported57
Biology, GeneralNot reported55
Biological and Biomedical Sciences, OtherNot reported41
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported35
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported25
Agricultural Business and ManagementNot reported23
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported22
MathematicsNot reported21
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringNot reported21
Engineering ScienceNot reported18
EconomicsNot reported18
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported14
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported11
Computer EngineeringNot reported11
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported8
PhilosophyNot reported8
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported8
AnthropologyNot reported7
Environmental/Natural Resources Management and PolicyNot reported6
MusicNot reported4
Public AdministrationNot reported4
ChemistryNot reported3
Natural SciencesNot reported3
Engineering, GeneralNot reported2
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported2
PhysicsNot reported2
Public HealthNot reported1
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reportedNot reported
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reportedNot reported
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, OtherNot reportedNot reported
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reportedNot reported

All 43 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges