Skip to content
College Path Hub

Caldwell University

Caldwell, New Jersey · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$24,691What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
71%
Graduation rate
58%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,575
In-state tuition
$40,848Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$40,848
SAT midpoint
1,155
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$53,843Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$24,691

Better than 39% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

58%

Better than 49% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$53,843

Better than 48% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,000

Better than 40% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$54,073

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$24,691

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Caldwell University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time58%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return77%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$53,843

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Caldwell University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$88,55080
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$48,94612
Business Administration, Management and Operations$31,24835
Psychology, General$24,23933
Criminal Justice and Corrections$22,93932
Communication and Media Studies$22,3717
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reported22
Biology, GeneralNot reported21
Public HealthNot reported14
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported14
Computer ScienceNot reported13
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported10
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsNot reported8
EconomicsNot reported7
SociologyNot reported7
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reported6
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported6
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported5
MathematicsNot reported5
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported4
MarketingNot reported4
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported3
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported2
MusicNot reported2
HistoryNot reported2
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reported1
ChemistryNot reported1
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Theological and Ministerial StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported

All 32 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges