Skip to content
College Path Hub

Allegheny College

Meadville, Pennsylvania · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$22,940What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
55%
Graduation rate
70%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,156
In-state tuition
$56,550Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$56,550
SAT midpoint
1,245
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$62,069Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$22,940

Better than 48% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

70%

Better than 74% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$62,069

Better than 71% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$27,000

Better than 4% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$71,348

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$22,940

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Allegheny College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time70%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return78%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$27,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$62,069

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Allegheny College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer Science$58,81122
Economics$51,72227
Neurobiology and Neurosciences$36,17818
Biology, General$35,62043
Psychology, General$35,21843
Public Health$32,32816
Communication and Media Studies$31,99417
Political Science and Government$30,83417
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$30,552Not reported
International Relations and National Security Studies$24,30314
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$21,82211
History$20,71317
Sustainability StudiesNot reported48
Business/Managerial EconomicsNot reported24
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported20
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported19
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported15
PhysicsNot reported11
ChemistryNot reported10
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported6
MathematicsNot reported5
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported5
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported4
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported4
Community Organization and AdvocacyNot reported3
PhilosophyNot reported3
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported3
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reported3
MusicNot reported2
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported2
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Biological and Physical SciencesNot reportedNot reported
Computer EngineeringNot reportedNot reported
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported

All 34 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges