Skip to content
College Path Hub

Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Worcester, Massachusetts · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$43,071What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
60%
Graduation rate
89%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
5,447
In-state tuition
$60,965Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$60,965
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$103,470Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$43,071

Better than 3% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

89%

Better than 95% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$103,470

Better than 98% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$27,000

Better than 4% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$78,679

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$43,071

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time89%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return94%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$27,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$103,470

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Worcester Polytechnic Institute by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer Science$93,888222
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$89,89777
Computer Software and Media Applications$86,19318
Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automation Engineering$85,340116
Chemical Engineering$78,76751
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$78,283121
Mechanical Engineering$78,182211
Industrial Engineering$77,99423
Civil Engineering$76,41935
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering$75,21859
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other$72,850Not reported
Biology, General$51,71128
Data ScienceNot reported47
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported30
MathematicsNot reported26
Architectural EngineeringNot reported26
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported24
Engineering-Related FieldsNot reported22
PhysicsNot reported17
Environmental/Environmental Health EngineeringNot reported11
Psychology, GeneralNot reported9
Mathematics and Statistics, OtherNot reported9
ChemistryNot reported8
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationNot reported7
Sustainability StudiesNot reported6
Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational BiologyNot reported5
Business/Commerce, GeneralNot reported4
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported3
EconomicsNot reported2
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported2
Engineering PhysicsNot reported2
Science, Technology and SocietyNot reported2
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reported1
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reported1
Data AnalyticsNot reportedNot reported

All 35 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges