Skip to content
College Path Hub

Williams College

Williamstown, Massachusetts · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$17,716What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
8%
Graduation rate
95%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,076
In-state tuition
$68,560Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$68,560
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$88,665Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$17,716

Better than 77% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

95%

Better than 98% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$88,665

Better than 94% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$12,761

Better than 96% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$84,860

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$17,716

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Williams College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time95%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return97%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$12,761
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$88,665

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Williams College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer Science$110,81456
Economics$80,888134
Political Science and Government$56,81746
Mathematics$55,19355
English Language and Literature, General$49,34062
Psychology, General$43,94363
Biology, General$41,21359
Chemistry$40,84029
Area Studies$38,59518
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$37,96821
Fine and Studio Arts$34,56040
HistoryNot reported55
Social Sciences, OtherNot reported20
PhysicsNot reported18
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported18
PhilosophyNot reported17
StatisticsNot reported16
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported14
SociologyNot reported13
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported12
MusicNot reported12
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported11
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported9
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported6
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported5
AnthropologyNot reported4
Astronomy and AstrophysicsNot reported4
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported4
Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported4
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported1

All 31 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges