Skip to content
College Path Hub

Western New England University

Springfield, Massachusetts · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$27,290What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
83%
Graduation rate
64%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,603
In-state tuition
$47,820Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$47,820
SAT midpoint
1,204
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$73,157Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$27,290

Better than 30% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

64%

Better than 61% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$73,157

Better than 85% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,500

Better than 36% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$60,262

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$27,290

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Western New England University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time64%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return74%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,500
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$73,157

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Western New England University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$83,80812
Computer Science$79,99025
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians$69,32653
Civil Engineering$67,72621
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$58,43725
Finance and Financial Management Services$54,47432
Business/Commerce, General$50,92112
Criminal Justice and Corrections$41,56439
Psychology, General$33,82554
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$26,54445
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationNot reported34
MarketingNot reported27
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported21
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reported20
Biology, GeneralNot reported19
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported14
Business Administration, Management and OperationsNot reported13
Non-Professional Legal StudiesNot reported11
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementNot reported10
ChemistryNot reported10
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reported10
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported9
Social WorkNot reported8
Computer EngineeringNot reported7
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported6
EconomicsNot reported6
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported6
Industrial EngineeringNot reported5
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported5
HistoryNot reported4
Entrepreneurial and Small Business OperationsNot reported3
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsNot reported2
Arts, Entertainment, and Media ManagementNot reported1
MathematicsNot reported1
Area StudiesNot reported1
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reported1
Human Resources Management and ServicesNot reported1
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported1
JournalismNot reportedNot reported
Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automation EngineeringNot reportedNot reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationNot reportedNot reported
SociologyNot reportedNot reported
PhilosophyNot reportedNot reported
International/Globalization StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Mechanical EngineeringNot reportedNot reported
Sustainability StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reportedNot reported
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reportedNot reported
International BusinessNot reportedNot reported
Physical Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
CriminologyNot reportedNot reported
Data ScienceNot reportedNot reported

All 52 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges