Skip to content
College Path Hub

Wayland Baptist University

Plainview, Texas · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$20,590What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
56%
Graduation rate
19%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,041
In-state tuition
$23,782Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$23,782
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$51,838Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$20,590

Better than 63% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

19%

Better than 3% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$51,838

Better than 42% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$23,106

Better than 65% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$36,323

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$20,590

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Wayland Baptist University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time19%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return45%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$23,106
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$51,838

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Wayland Baptist University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$70,78913
Criminal Justice and Corrections$53,03872
Business Administration, Management and Operations$51,763202
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$44,68896
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$38,39735
Human Services, General$33,08248
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported15
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reported10
Biology, GeneralNot reported10
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported9
Psychology, GeneralNot reported8
Finance and Financial Management ServicesNot reported6
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported6
Human Resources Management and ServicesNot reported6
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported5
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported4
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported4
Security Science and TechnologyNot reported4
Computer ScienceNot reported4
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported3
MarketingNot reported3
MusicNot reported3
HistoryNot reported2
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported2
ChemistryNot reported2
SociologyNot reported1
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported1
Religious EducationNot reported1
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reported1
Military Technologies and Applied Sciences, OtherNot reported1
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities ManagementNot reportedNot reported
Special Education and TeachingNot reportedNot reported
MathematicsNot reportedNot reported
Theological and Ministerial StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Missions/Missionary Studies and MissiologyNot reportedNot reported
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reportedNot reported
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reportedNot reported
Communication and Media StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reportedNot reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementNot reportedNot reported

All 41 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges