At a glance
- Average net price
- $13,596What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 79%
- Graduation rate
- 43%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 4,222
- In-state tuition
- $11,284Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $27,944
- SAT midpoint
- 1,113
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $49,958Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$13,5963/5
Better than 59% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
43%2/5
Better than 29% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$49,9582/5
Better than 34% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$19,0604/5
Better than 70% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$23,717
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$13,596
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 43% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 74% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $19,060 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $49,958 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $71,774 | 8 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | $71,675 | 168 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $68,318 | 22 |
| Computer Science | $67,956 | 12 |
| Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians | $58,538 | 4 |
| Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management | $57,411 | 11 |
| Accounting and Related Services | $51,379 | 10 |
| Economics | $49,173 | 6 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $48,421 | 96 |
| Criminology | $47,726 | 14 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | $47,393 | 16 |
| Marketing | $46,198 | 36 |
| Biology, General | $43,722 | 42 |
| Social Work | $40,692 | 22 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | $37,585 | 69 |
| History | $36,876 | 29 |
| Communication and Media Studies | $35,920 | 51 |
| Social Sciences, Other | $35,418 | 59 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas | $34,843 | 14 |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | $34,465 | 8 |
| Psychology, General | $33,621 | 56 |
| English Language and Literature, General | $33,014 | 18 |
| Hospitality Administration/Management | $29,924 | 11 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | $29,716 | 14 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | $29,478 | 9 |
| Political Science and Government | $28,589 | 26 |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services | $27,895 | 19 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $21,058 | 12 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | $12,960 | 10 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | Not reported | 16 |
| Music | Not reported | 16 |
| Security Science and Technology | Not reported | 9 |
| Public Health | Not reported | 8 |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | Not reported | 7 |
| Sociology | Not reported | 7 |
| Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods | Not reported | 6 |
| Mathematics | Not reported | 5 |
| Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions | Not reported | 4 |
| Chemistry | Not reported | 4 |
| Geography and Cartography | Not reported | 3 |
| Physics | Not reported | 2 |
| Anthropology | Not reported | 2 |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | Not reported | 2 |
| Film/Video and Photographic Arts | Not reported | 1 |
| Physical Sciences, General | Not reported | 1 |
| Philosophy | Not reported | 1 |
| Special Education and Teaching | Not reported | Not reported |
| Specialized Sales, Merchandising and Marketing Operations | Not reported | Not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Not reported | Not reported |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | Not reported | Not reported |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | Not reported |
| Industrial Engineering | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering, General | Not reported | Not reported |
All 53 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
University of Maine at Augusta
Augusta, ME
Also a public four-year college in ME, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of Maine at Presque Isle
Presque Isle, ME
Also a public four-year college in ME, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of Maine at Farmington
Farmington, ME
Also a public four-year college in ME, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoMaine Maritime Academy
Castine, ME
Also a public four-year college in ME, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two