Skip to content
College Path Hub

University of New Hampshire-Main Campus

Durham, New Hampshire · Public · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$23,805What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
88%
Graduation rate
76%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
11,261
In-state tuition
$19,202Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$39,852
SAT midpoint
1,205
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$66,479Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$23,805

Better than 4% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

76%

Better than 90% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$66,479

Better than 83% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$26,814

Better than 5% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$35,537

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$23,805

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for University of New Hampshire-Main Campus
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time76%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return87%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$26,814
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$66,479

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at University of New Hampshire-Main Campus by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer Engineering$88,9049
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$81,98114
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$77,27174
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$76,75519
Computer and Information Sciences, General$75,15658
Chemical Engineering$71,59917
Mechanical Engineering$70,86594
Civil Engineering$67,03546
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians$64,826Not reported
Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering$62,19028
Business/Commerce, General$57,378Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services, Other$57,256Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations$57,015618
Economics$54,32857
Genetics$51,69315
Homeland Security$51,20062
Biotechnology$50,276Not reported
Health and Medical Administrative Services$50,11026
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$47,23625
Biology, General$45,346181
Communication and Media Studies$43,551134
Sustainability Studies$43,09029
Sociology$42,04823
Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy$41,6817
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$40,72013
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$39,8529
Criminology$39,81481
Neurobiology and Neurosciences$39,57334
Political Science and Government$38,43559
Psychology, General$38,229211
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management$38,20148
Social Work$37,39546
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$37,28667
Hospitality Administration/Management$36,59021
English Language and Literature, General$34,56360
Nutrition Sciences$34,11550
International Relations and National Security Studies$34,03614
Animal Sciences$33,21331
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$32,60380
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$32,14684
Music$30,71616
Anthropology$30,38016
Agricultural Production Operations$29,23126
History$28,66333
Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Other$28,56128
Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management$27,69831
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$27,31216
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$24,83023
Zoology/Animal Biology$22,26824
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions$7,72539
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesNot reported51
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reported24
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reported24
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported14
PhysicsNot reported13
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported12
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported10
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported9
City/Urban, Community, and Regional PlanningNot reported9
MathematicsNot reported9
PhilosophyNot reported9
Ocean EngineeringNot reported8
Applied MathematicsNot reported8
ChemistryNot reported8
StatisticsNot reported7
ForestryNot reported6
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported6
Engineering PhysicsNot reported6
Education, GeneralNot reported5
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported5
Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
Geography and CartographyNot reported3
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsNot reported2
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported1
MarketingNot reportedNot reported
Natural Resources and Conservation, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Engineering, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Special Education and TeachingNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reportedNot reported
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/TechniciansNot reportedNot reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementNot reportedNot reported
Human Resources Management and ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Human Services, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Behavioral SciencesNot reportedNot reported
American Sign LanguageNot reportedNot reported
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsNot reportedNot reported
Radio, Television, and Digital CommunicationNot reportedNot reported
Microbiological Sciences and ImmunologyNot reportedNot reported
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Mathematics and Statistics, OtherNot reportedNot reported

All 94 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges