At a glance
- Average net price
- $9,833What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 86%
- Graduation rate
- 57%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 2,263
- In-state tuition
- $12,252Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $22,017
- SAT midpoint
- 1,120
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $57,103Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$9,8335/5
Better than 84% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
57%4/5
Better than 63% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$57,1033/5
Better than 58% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$19,1284/5
Better than 69% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$25,521
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$9,833
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 57% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 75% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $19,128 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $57,103 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | $72,657 | 87 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | $44,458 | 28 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $44,236 | 105 |
| Accounting and Related Services | $43,081 | 22 |
| Criminal Justice and Corrections | $41,064 | 24 |
| English Language and Literature, General | $39,358 | 24 |
| Social Work | $38,707 | 21 |
| Biology, General | $33,882 | 22 |
| History | $33,297 | 20 |
| Communication and Media Studies | $32,050 | 39 |
| Psychology, General | $31,978 | 88 |
| Political Science and Government | Not reported | 26 |
| Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management | Not reported | 25 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | Not reported | 19 |
| Non-Professional Legal Studies | Not reported | 16 |
| Mathematics | Not reported | 15 |
| Computer Systems Analysis | Not reported | 14 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | Not reported | 12 |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | Not reported | 12 |
| Philosophy | Not reported | 10 |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | Not reported | 6 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | Not reported | 6 |
| Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions | Not reported | 5 |
| Public Administration | Not reported | 5 |
| Chemistry | Not reported | 5 |
| Sociology and Anthropology | Not reported | 3 |
| International/Globalization Studies | Not reported | 1 |
| Economics | Not reported | 1 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | Not reported | 1 |
| Legal Professions and Studies, Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education, General | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public Policy Analysis | Not reported | Not reported |
All 32 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
Governors State University
University Park, IL
Also a public four-year college in IL, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoChicago State University
Chicago, IL
Also a public four-year college in IL, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoNortheastern Illinois University
Chicago, IL
Also a public four-year college in IL, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoEastern Illinois University
Charleston, IL
Also a public four-year college in IL, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two