At a glance
- Average net price
- $17,890What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 66%
- Graduation rate
- 75%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 17,940
- In-state tuition
- $16,005Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $50,205
- SAT midpoint
- Not reported
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $68,396Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$17,8902/5
Better than 24% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
75%5/5
Better than 89% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$68,3965/5
Better than 85% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$16,6665/5
Better than 84% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$41,179
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$17,890
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 75% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 88% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $16,666 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $68,396 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Engineering | $79,969 | 125 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $78,842 | 30 |
| Computer Science | $75,150 | 658 |
| Biomedical/Medical Engineering | $55,856 | 5 |
| Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management | $55,773 | 92 |
| Business/Managerial Economics | $52,029 | 280 |
| Economics | $50,518 | 159 |
| Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences | $45,088 | 178 |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | $43,362 | 55 |
| Mathematics | $40,798 | 96 |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | $40,320 | 57 |
| Chemistry | $39,700 | 54 |
| Physics | $37,859 | 36 |
| Biology, General | $37,651 | 215 |
| Non-Professional Legal Studies | $36,941 | 126 |
| Cognitive Science | $35,384 | 123 |
| Astronomy and Astrophysics | $35,171 | 40 |
| History | $33,081 | 104 |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | $32,934 | 16 |
| Political Science and Government | $31,882 | 141 |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | $31,140 | 120 |
| Psychology, General | $30,730 | 499 |
| Philosophy | $30,285 | 51 |
| Community Organization and Advocacy | $29,617 | 31 |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | $29,152 | 167 |
| Behavioral Sciences | $28,709 | Not reported |
| Sociology | $28,495 | 192 |
| Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology | $25,810 | 153 |
| Graphic Communications | $25,358 | Not reported |
| Neurobiology and Neurosciences | $25,034 | 46 |
| Film/Video and Photographic Arts | $23,614 | 173 |
| Anthropology | $23,152 | 124 |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services | $21,793 | 175 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | $21,638 | 24 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $21,106 | 115 |
| Design and Applied Arts | Not reported | 132 |
| Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education | Not reported | 70 |
| Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology | Not reported | 58 |
| Physical Sciences, General | Not reported | 58 |
| Applied Mathematics | Not reported | 19 |
| Music | Not reported | 15 |
| Plant Sciences | Not reported | 13 |
| Agricultural Production Operations | Not reported | 13 |
| Biotechnology | Not reported | 6 |
| Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | 5 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas | Not reported | 4 |
| Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | Not reported | 2 |
| Archeology | Not reported | 1 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | Not reported | Not reported |
| English Language and Literature/Letters, Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural Sciences | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area Studies | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer Software and Media Applications | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services, Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Religion/Religious Studies | Not reported | Not reported |
| Research and Experimental Psychology | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Other | Not reported | Not reported |
All 57 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
San Francisco State University
San Francisco, CA
Also a public four-year college in CA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoCalifornia State University-Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA
Also a public four-year college in CA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoCalifornia State University-San Bernardino
San Bernardino, CA
Also a public four-year college in CA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoCalifornia State University-San Marcos
San Marcos, CA
Also a public four-year college in CA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two