Skip to content
College Path Hub

University of Alaska Fairbanks

Fairbanks, Alaska · Public · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$10,892What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
Not reported
Graduation rate
35%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
4,207
In-state tuition
$8,736Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$22,320
SAT midpoint
1,235
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$48,866Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$10,892

Better than 79% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

35%

Better than 15% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$48,866

Better than 30% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$20,291

Better than 59% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$22,407

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$10,892

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for University of Alaska Fairbanks
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time35%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return74%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$20,291
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$48,866

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at University of Alaska Fairbanks by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Mechanical Engineering$79,43816
Civil Engineering$71,31210
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$51,61921
Accounting and Related Services$50,58121
Social Work$48,15123
Business Administration, Management and Operations$46,94951
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$39,10345
Criminal Justice and Corrections$34,61717
Psychology, General$33,08036
Biology, General$31,39228
Homeland SecurityNot reported32
Wildlife and Wildlands Science and ManagementNot reported16
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported11
Geological/Geophysical EngineeringNot reported9
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported9
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported9
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesNot reported8
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported7
Community Organization and AdvocacyNot reported6
PhysicsNot reported5
AnthropologyNot reported5
Computer ScienceNot reported5
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported5
HistoryNot reported5
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported4
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported4
Mining and Mineral EngineeringNot reported4
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported4
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringNot reported4
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported3
Area StudiesNot reported3
MathematicsNot reported3
PhilosophyNot reported2
Geography and CartographyNot reported2
Petroleum EngineeringNot reported2
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported2
ChemistryNot reported1
Computer EngineeringNot reported1
MusicNot reported1
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported1
JournalismNot reported1
Biological and Physical SciencesNot reported1
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported1
SociologyNot reportedNot reported
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, OtherNot reportedNot reported
American Indian/Native American Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Fishing and Fisheries Sciences and ManagementNot reportedNot reported
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reportedNot reported
EconomicsNot reportedNot reported
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space EngineeringNot reportedNot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported

All 51 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges