Skip to content
College Path Hub

Union College

Schenectady, New York · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$34,561What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
44%
Graduation rate
83%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,046
In-state tuition
$69,039Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$69,039
SAT midpoint
1,360
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$88,604Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$34,561

Better than 12% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

83%

Better than 90% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$88,604

Better than 94% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,337

Better than 38% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$84,561

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$34,561

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Union College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time83%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return90%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,337
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$88,604

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Union College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Mechanical Engineering$68,40734
Economics$62,84666
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$62,62430
Political Science and Government$49,75932
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$45,51642
Neurobiology and Neurosciences$44,92724
Research and Experimental Psychology$30,06145
Biology, GeneralNot reported30
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported18
HistoryNot reported17
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported16
SociologyNot reported15
Business/Managerial EconomicsNot reported13
MathematicsNot reported13
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported12
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported10
Computer EngineeringNot reported7
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringNot reported6
PhysicsNot reported6
PhilosophyNot reported5
Area StudiesNot reported5
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported5
MusicNot reported4
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported4
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported4
Systems Science and TheoryNot reported3
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported3
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
ChemistryNot reported3
AnthropologyNot reported2
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported2
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported1
Astronomy and AstrophysicsNot reported1
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Information Science/StudiesNot reportedNot reported
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Biological and Physical SciencesNot reportedNot reported
Biological and Biomedical Sciences, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reportedNot reported

All 40 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges