Skip to content
College Path Hub

St Bonaventure University

Saint Bonaventure, New York · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$27,074What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
82%
Graduation rate
68%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,012
In-state tuition
$41,735Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$41,735
SAT midpoint
1,170
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$57,214Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$27,074

Better than 30% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

68%

Better than 71% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$57,214

Better than 60% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$26,000

Better than 28% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$57,271

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$27,074

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for St Bonaventure University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time68%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return86%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$26,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$57,214

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at St Bonaventure University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Accounting and Related Services$53,12834
Finance and Financial Management Services$51,24429
Marketing$41,15230
Business Administration, Management and Operations$39,93724
Journalism$34,0459
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$27,88519
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$27,7149
Sociology$23,4759
Special Education and TeachingNot reported24
Psychology, GeneralNot reported21
Biology, GeneralNot reported19
CriminologyNot reported17
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported17
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reported15
Public HealthNot reported14
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementNot reported11
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationNot reported10
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported10
HistoryNot reported10
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported10
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesNot reported9
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported9
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported8
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported7
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, GeneralNot reported5
Human BiologyNot reported5
ChemistryNot reported5
Health Professions Education, Ethics, and HumanitiesNot reported4
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported3
EconomicsNot reported3
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported3
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reported3
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported2
International/Globalization StudiesNot reported2
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reported2
MusicNot reported2
Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational BiologyNot reported1
Business/Managerial EconomicsNot reported1
PhilosophyNot reported1
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reportedNot reported
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
MathematicsNot reportedNot reported
Biological and Biomedical Sciences, OtherNot reportedNot reported
PhysicsNot reportedNot reported
Theological and Ministerial StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Communication and Media StudiesNot reportedNot reported

All 48 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges