Skip to content
College Path Hub

Spelman College

Atlanta, Georgia · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$38,967What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
25%
Graduation rate
77%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
3,414
In-state tuition
$31,556Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$31,556
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$59,993Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$38,967

Better than 6% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

77%

Better than 86% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$59,993

Better than 68% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,000

Better than 40% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$50,952

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$38,967

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Spelman College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time77%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return94%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$59,993

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Spelman College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer and Information Sciences, General$98,69216
Economics$59,90734
Political Science and Government$39,05053
English Language and Literature, General$31,12925
Psychology, General$29,34363
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$28,35739
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$28,08013
International/Globalization Studies$25,75325
Biology, General$21,63834
SociologyNot reported18
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported16
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported11
MathematicsNot reported11
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported10
ChemistryNot reported10
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reported7
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported7
MusicNot reported5
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported4
HistoryNot reported3
PhilosophyNot reported3
Sociology and AnthropologyNot reported3
DanceNot reported3
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported2
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported2
Human Services, GeneralNot reported1
PhysicsNot reported1
Engineering, GeneralNot reported1
Environmental Control Technologies/TechniciansNot reportedNot reported
Education, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reportedNot reported

All 31 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges