Skip to content
College Path Hub

Southern Wesleyan University

Central, South Carolina · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$15,464What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
100%
Graduation rate
52%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
747
In-state tuition
$29,800Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$29,800
SAT midpoint
1,074
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$47,756Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$15,464

Better than 83% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

52%

Better than 38% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$47,756

Better than 30% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$26,000

Better than 28% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$39,914

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$15,464

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Southern Wesleyan University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time52%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return69%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$26,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$47,756

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Southern Wesleyan University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Business Administration, Management and Operations$52,07057
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$42,00613
Criminology$40,8349
Biology, General$39,4648
Human Services, General$32,29018
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$31,32624
Religion/Religious Studies$28,63615
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, Fitness, and Kinesiology, Other$25,78514
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported8
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reported8
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported8
ChemistryNot reported6
Psychology, GeneralNot reported6
MusicNot reported5
Security Science and TechnologyNot reported4
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported4
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported3
Special Education and TeachingNot reported3
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported2
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reported1
HistoryNot reported1
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingNot reported1
Religious Music and WorshipNot reportedNot reported
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reportedNot reported
MathematicsNot reportedNot reported
Business/Commerce, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Intercultural/Multicultural and Diversity StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reportedNot reported
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reportedNot reported

All 31 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges