South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Rapid City, South Dakota · Public · 4-year · City
Official websiteAt a glance
- Average net price
- $20,183What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 80%
- Graduation rate
- 56%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 2,071
- In-state tuition
- $10,500Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $14,900
- SAT midpoint
- 1,255
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $72,257Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$20,1831/5
Better than 12% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
56%3/5
Better than 58% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$72,2575/5
Better than 89% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$27,0001/5
Better than 3% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$25,385
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$20,183
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 56% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 84% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $27,000 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $72,257 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Mining and Mineral Engineering | $90,514 | 13 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | $78,193 | 27 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $73,551 | 28 |
| Chemical Engineering | $72,785 | 42 |
| Computer Engineering | $72,639 | 8 |
| Metallurgical Engineering | $71,985 | 20 |
| Industrial Engineering | $70,216 | 30 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $69,667 | 76 |
| Civil Engineering | $68,755 | 39 |
| Biomedical/Medical Engineering | Not reported | 21 |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | Not reported | 13 |
| Geological/Geophysical Engineering | Not reported | 12 |
| Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | Not reported | 11 |
| Mathematics | Not reported | 10 |
| Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General | Not reported | 9 |
| Chemistry | Not reported | 7 |
| Physics | Not reported | 4 |
| Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology | Not reported | 4 |
| Biology, General | Not reported | 3 |
| Applied Mathematics | Not reported | 3 |
| Biotechnology | Not reported | 1 |
| Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering, General | Not reported | Not reported |
All 23 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
Dakota State University
Madison, SD
Also a public four-year college in SD, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoBlack Hills State University
Spearfish, SD
Also a public four-year college in SD, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoNorthern State University
Aberdeen, SD
Also a public four-year college in SD, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of South Dakota
Vermillion, SD
Also a public four-year college in SD, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two