Skip to content
College Path Hub

Saint Mary's College

Notre Dame, Indiana · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$25,292What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
76%
Graduation rate
73%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,458
In-state tuition
$53,230Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$53,230
SAT midpoint
1,161
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$59,354Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$25,292

Better than 37% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

73%

Better than 80% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$59,354

Better than 65% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$27,000

Better than 4% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$66,478

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$25,292

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Saint Mary's College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time73%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return88%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$27,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$59,354

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Saint Mary's College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$74,96247
Accounting and Related Services$71,23413
Business Administration, Management and Operations$52,89127
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$41,28631
Communication and Media Studies$32,32222
Psychology, General$32,21335
International/Globalization Studies$25,16415
Biology, GeneralNot reported25
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesNot reported17
MathematicsNot reported11
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported10
SociologyNot reported10
ChemistryNot reported9
Social WorkNot reported9
MarketingNot reported8
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported7
Applied MathematicsNot reported6
PhysicsNot reported6
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported5
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported5
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported5
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported5
HistoryNot reported5
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported5
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported5
Mathematics and Statistics, OtherNot reported4
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reported4
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported4
PhilosophyNot reported3
EconomicsNot reported3
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported2
English Language and Literature/Letters, OtherNot reported2
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported1
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported1
MusicNot reportedNot reported
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reportedNot reported

All 36 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges