Skip to content
College Path Hub

Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College

Saint Mary of the Woods, Indiana · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Rural

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$31,872What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
72%
Graduation rate
49%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
853
In-state tuition
$35,270Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$35,270
SAT midpoint
1,048
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$43,845Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$31,872

Better than 15% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

49%

Better than 32% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$43,845

Better than 21% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$19,512

Better than 84% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$49,512

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$31,872

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time49%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return62%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$19,512
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$43,845

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$69,46020
Business Administration, Management and Operations$44,48111
Special Education and Teaching$41,94327
Psychology, GeneralNot reported14
CriminologyNot reported12
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported7
Human Services, GeneralNot reported6
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported6
Human Resources Management and ServicesNot reported5
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported5
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported4
MarketingNot reported4
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported4
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported3
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsNot reported3
Biology, GeneralNot reported3
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported2
MathematicsNot reported2
MusicNot reported2
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported2
Legal Support ServicesNot reported2
Agricultural and Domestic Animal ServicesNot reported2
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reported1
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherNot reported1
Theological and Ministerial StudiesNot reported1
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Agricultural Production OperationsNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reportedNot reported

All 29 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges