Saginaw Valley State University
University Center, Michigan · Public · 4-year · Suburb
Official websiteAt a glance
- Average net price
- $10,775What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 72%
- Graduation rate
- 51%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 5,989
- In-state tuition
- $12,930Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $30,450
- SAT midpoint
- 1,065
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $51,955Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$10,7755/5
Better than 80% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
51%3/5
Better than 46% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$51,9553/5
Better than 41% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$25,0001/5
Better than 9% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$24,936
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$10,775
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 51% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 78% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $25,000 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $51,955 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $78,950 | 18 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $76,823 | 52 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | $76,244 | 168 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | $68,037 | 26 |
| Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions | $66,597 | 13 |
| Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions | $59,937 | 56 |
| Computer Systems Analysis | $54,219 | 15 |
| Accounting and Related Services | $53,416 | 38 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | $46,284 | 33 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $44,490 | 40 |
| Marketing | $44,376 | 42 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas | $43,585 | 58 |
| Special Education and Teaching | $43,191 | 65 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | $43,151 | 110 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | $40,740 | 32 |
| Criminal Justice and Corrections | $40,049 | 55 |
| History | $38,628 | 18 |
| Social Work | $38,503 | 62 |
| Business/Commerce, General | $37,424 | 20 |
| Communication and Media Studies | $36,348 | 31 |
| Biology, General | $35,216 | 49 |
| Political Science and Government | $35,059 | 17 |
| Health/Medical Preparatory Programs | $32,753 | 17 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | $31,021 | 55 |
| Psychology, General | $30,092 | 49 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $28,289 | 7 |
| Design and Applied Arts | $27,577 | 31 |
| Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies | $23,298 | 20 |
| Public Health | Not reported | 29 |
| Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General | Not reported | 26 |
| Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods | Not reported | 16 |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | Not reported | 14 |
| Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians | Not reported | 14 |
| Chemistry | Not reported | 12 |
| Business/Managerial Economics | Not reported | 10 |
| Geography and Cartography | Not reported | 9 |
| Sociology | Not reported | 9 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | Not reported | 7 |
| Music | Not reported | 7 |
| Mathematics | Not reported | 7 |
| English Language and Literature, General | Not reported | 7 |
| Applied Mathematics | Not reported | 6 |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | 6 |
| Neurobiology and Neurosciences | Not reported | 5 |
| Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Other | Not reported | 4 |
| Public Administration | Not reported | 4 |
| International/Globalization Studies | Not reported | 4 |
| International Business | Not reported | 4 |
| Physics | Not reported | 2 |
| Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology | Not reported | 2 |
| Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Basic Skills and Developmental/Remedial Education | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and Performing Arts, Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Non-Professional Legal Studies | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Not reported | Not reported |
| International Relations and National Security Studies | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education, General | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical Sciences, Other | Not reported | Not reported |
All 60 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
Michigan Technological University
Houghton, MI
Also a public four-year college in MI, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of Michigan-Dearborn
Dearborn, MI
Also a public four-year college in MI, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoNorthern Michigan University
Marquette, MI
Also a public four-year college in MI, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of Michigan-Flint
Flint, MI
Also a public four-year college in MI, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two