Skip to content
College Path Hub

Pepperdine University

Malibu, California · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$58,098What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
63%
Graduation rate
84%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
3,553
In-state tuition
$69,918Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$69,918
SAT midpoint
1,350
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$82,939Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$58,098

Better than 0% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

84%

Better than 92% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$82,939

Better than 92% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$23,510

Better than 60% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$93,512

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$58,098

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Pepperdine University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time84%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return88%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$23,510
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$82,939

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Pepperdine University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Business Administration, Management and Operations$69,751186
Economics$54,26731
Communication and Media Studies$48,39817
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$45,98885
Journalism$42,53613
Political Science and Government$42,30638
International/Globalization Studies$36,92018
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$34,38851
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$33,22813
Psychology, General$23,43889
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$23,1823
Biology, General$20,03149
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported23
Finance and Financial Management ServicesNot reported20
MusicNot reported17
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported16
Mathematics and Computer ScienceNot reported16
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported15
International BusinessNot reported14
Arts, Entertainment, and Media ManagementNot reported11
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported10
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reported9
PhilosophyNot reported9
SociologyNot reported8
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported8
Natural SciencesNot reported7
PhysicsNot reported7
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported7
HistoryNot reported7
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported5
Nutrition SciencesNot reported4
MathematicsNot reported4
ChemistryNot reported4
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported3
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported2
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported2
Sustainability StudiesNot reported2
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyNot reported1
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementNot reportedNot reported
Area StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Middle/Near Eastern and Semitic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported

All 42 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges