Skip to content
College Path Hub

Northwestern State University of Louisiana

Natchitoches, Louisiana · Public · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$13,606What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
93%
Graduation rate
44%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
5,519
In-state tuition
$8,864Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$19,652
SAT midpoint
1,020
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$47,021Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$13,606

Better than 58% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

44%

Better than 30% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$47,021

Better than 24% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,000

Better than 9% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$25,431

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$13,606

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Northwestern State University of Louisiana
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time44%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return71%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$47,021

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Northwestern State University of Louisiana by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$74,935293
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$59,18612
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$58,62764
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$53,4426
Accounting and Related Services$48,89538
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$46,90825
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$46,45810
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians$45,6399
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians$39,28220
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General$38,010Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations$37,02091
Hospitality Administration/Management$35,45223
Social Work$33,59653
Psychology, General$32,765113
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$32,688144
Criminal Justice and Corrections$30,55946
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$28,00928
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$27,37350
Communication and Media Studies$25,13728
Biology, General$25,078100
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions$24,3406
Music$23,52917
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$16,97325
Information Science/StudiesNot reported34
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported16
HistoryNot reported11
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported8
Microbiological Sciences and ImmunologyNot reported8
Physical Sciences, GeneralNot reported5
DanceNot reported3
MathematicsNot reported2

All 31 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges