Skip to content
College Path Hub

North Carolina Wesleyan University

Rocky Mount, North Carolina · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$17,432What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
80%
Graduation rate
41%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,214
In-state tuition
$35,736Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$35,736
SAT midpoint
990
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$45,873Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$17,432

Better than 78% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

41%

Better than 19% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$45,873

Better than 25% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,000

Better than 40% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$49,974

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$17,432

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for North Carolina Wesleyan University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time41%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return59%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$45,873

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at North Carolina Wesleyan University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Marketing$45,88013
Computer and Information Sciences, General$42,14232
Accounting and Related Services$39,22026
Business Administration, Management and Operations$37,358149
Criminal Justice and Corrections$33,73531
Psychology, General$30,57035
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reported27
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported25
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingNot reported11
Biology, GeneralNot reported7
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported6
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported4
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported4
HistoryNot reported4
Special Education and TeachingNot reported3
MathematicsNot reported3
Public HealthNot reported3
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported3
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported2
SociologyNot reported2
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported2
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported2
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reported2
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported2
ChemistryNot reportedNot reported
Biological and Physical SciencesNot reportedNot reported
Agriculture/Veterinary Preparatory ProgramsNot reportedNot reported
Entrepreneurial and Small Business OperationsNot reportedNot reported

All 28 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges