Skip to content
College Path Hub

Montana State University-Northern

Havre, Montana · Public · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$12,664What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
Not reported
Graduation rate
42%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
761
In-state tuition
$6,982Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$21,875
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$49,505Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$12,664

Better than 67% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

42%

Better than 25% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$49,505

Better than 33% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$18,500

Better than 74% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$16,578

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$12,664

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Montana State University-Northern
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time42%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return64%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$18,500
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$49,505

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Montana State University-Northern by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$77,12115
Criminal Justice and Corrections$43,15813
Business Administration, Management and Operations$40,38126
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/TechniciansNot reported23
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported12
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported7
Biology, GeneralNot reported6
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported5
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported5
Civil Engineering Technologies/TechniciansNot reported4
Agricultural Business and ManagementNot reported3
Community Organization and AdvocacyNot reported2
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported1
Precision Metal WorkingNot reportedNot reported
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/TechniciansNot reportedNot reported
Agricultural MechanizationNot reportedNot reported

All 18 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges