Skip to content
College Path Hub

Montana State University

Bozeman, Montana · Public · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$22,499What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
82%
Graduation rate
57%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
14,451
In-state tuition
$8,460Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$33,287
SAT midpoint
1,185
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$53,263Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$22,499

Better than 6% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

57%

Better than 64% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$53,263

Better than 45% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$22,500

Better than 31% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$25,905

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$22,499

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Montana State University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time57%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return79%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$22,500
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$53,263

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Montana State University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Construction Engineering Technology/Technician$77,13938
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$77,06032
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$71,915284
Mechanical Engineering$68,469171
Civil Engineering$67,37373
Computer Engineering$67,01514
Computer Science$66,918102
Industrial Engineering$64,08225
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians$62,60539
Chemical Engineering$62,20670
Agricultural Business and Management$50,87629
Business/Commerce, General$48,164291
Economics$47,09822
Music$38,80710
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$38,57643
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$37,50176
Microbiological Sciences and Immunology$37,18156
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$36,74534
Sociology$36,59542
Political Science and Government$35,47636
Mathematics$34,47530
English Language and Literature, General$33,48356
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$33,415Not reported
Plant Sciences$33,31116
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences$32,53860
Fine and Studio Arts$32,26547
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General$31,910145
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$30,38048
Animal Sciences$30,22049
History$29,69235
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$29,60865
Biology, General$29,435100
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$29,03039
Psychology, General$28,928140
Sustainability Studies$22,29619
Architectural Sciences and TechnologyNot reported43
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringNot reported34
ChemistryNot reported29
Environmental/Environmental Health EngineeringNot reported22
Foods, Nutrition, and Related ServicesNot reported20
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported16
Hospitality Administration/ManagementNot reported16
AnthropologyNot reported14
Wildlife and Wildlands Science and ManagementNot reported11
PhysicsNot reported10
Finance and Financial Management ServicesNot reported10
StatisticsNot reported9
PhilosophyNot reported8
BiotechnologyNot reported8
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, GeneralNot reported2
Astronomy and AstrophysicsNot reported1
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Environmental/Natural Resources Management and PolicyNot reportedNot reported
Environmental DesignNot reportedNot reported
Area StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reportedNot reported
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reportedNot reported

All 59 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges