Skip to content
College Path Hub

Martin Luther College

New Ulm, Minnesota · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$18,463What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
87%
Graduation rate
71%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
725
In-state tuition
$18,120Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$18,120
SAT midpoint
1,165
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$47,491Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$18,463

Better than 74% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

71%

Better than 78% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$47,491

Better than 29% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$20,177

Better than 81% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$29,250

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$18,463

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Martin Luther College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time71%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return85%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$20,177
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$47,491

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Martin Luther College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$46,70689
Theological and Ministerial Studies$15,32735
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported40
Education, OtherNot reported5
Theology and Religious Vocations, OtherNot reported3
Special Education and TeachingNot reported2
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reportedNot reported

All 7 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges