Skip to content
College Path Hub

Marshall University

Huntington, West Virginia · Public · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$7,502What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
96%
Graduation rate
50%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
7,266
In-state tuition
$9,162Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$20,342
SAT midpoint
1,040
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$46,354Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$7,502

Better than 92% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

50%

Better than 42% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$46,354

Better than 22% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$23,250

Better than 24% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$22,022

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$7,502

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Marshall University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time50%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return72%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$23,250
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$46,354

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Marshall University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$69,176106
Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians$67,92312
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$67,5489
Mechanical Engineering$61,02016
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$60,61014
Engineering, General$60,2543
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$59,01741
Computer and Information Sciences, General$52,04710
Accounting and Related Services$43,35527
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$40,057106
Marketing$37,19110
Finance and Financial Management Services$36,04611
Business Administration, Management and Operations$35,03613
Social Work$33,34435
Criminal Justice and Corrections$32,74744
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$32,282143
Chemistry$32,14319
Psychology, General$30,864122
English Language and Literature, General$30,19546
Systems Science and Theory$29,53911
Health/Medical Preparatory Programs$28,815132
Fine and Studio Arts$24,47525
Journalism$23,16933
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$20,68255
Biology, General$19,95570
Business/Commerce, GeneralNot reported194
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesNot reported31
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralNot reported22
Civil EngineeringNot reported19
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementNot reported17
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, OtherNot reported15
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported13
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported12
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services, OtherNot reported9
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition ServicesNot reported9
SociologyNot reported9
Geography and CartographyNot reported7
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities ManagementNot reported7
HistoryNot reported6
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported6
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported6
Business/Managerial EconomicsNot reported5
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringNot reported5
International BusinessNot reported4
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reported2
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reported2
MathematicsNot reported2
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsNot reported1
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reported1
Computer Systems AnalysisNot reportedNot reported
EconomicsNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reportedNot reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationNot reportedNot reported
InsuranceNot reportedNot reported
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reportedNot reported
Public HealthNot reportedNot reported
Communication and Media StudiesNot reportedNot reported
LiteratureNot reportedNot reported
AnthropologyNot reportedNot reported
Natural Resources and Conservation, OtherNot reportedNot reported
StatisticsNot reportedNot reported
Area StudiesNot reportedNot reported
PhysicsNot reportedNot reported
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported

All 64 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges