Skip to content
College Path Hub

Loyola University New Orleans

New Orleans, Louisiana · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$23,696What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
93%
Graduation rate
63%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,812
In-state tuition
$49,440Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$49,440
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$52,927Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$23,696

Better than 44% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

63%

Better than 60% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$52,927

Better than 45% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$26,000

Better than 28% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$64,157

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$23,696

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Loyola University New Orleans
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time63%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return80%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$26,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$52,927

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Loyola University New Orleans by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Journalism$37,20617
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$36,00424
Criminology$35,57850
Marketing$32,07936
Biology, General$30,18133
Sociology$26,58120
Political Science and Government$26,28123
Psychology, General$24,24185
Arts, Entertainment, and Media Management$20,25769
Business Administration, Management and OperationsNot reported41
Finance and Financial Management ServicesNot reported33
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reported18
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported17
MusicNot reported17
HistoryNot reported16
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported14
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported14
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsNot reported14
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reported14
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported13
PhilosophyNot reported12
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsNot reported11
ChemistryNot reported10
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported9
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported9
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, GeneralNot reported9
International BusinessNot reported8
LiteratureNot reported8
Radio, Television, and Digital CommunicationNot reported8
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported8
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported7
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported6
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported5
Business/Managerial EconomicsNot reported4
Theological and Ministerial StudiesNot reported4
Research and Experimental PsychologyNot reported4
MathematicsNot reported3
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingNot reported3
EconomicsNot reported2
PhysicsNot reported2
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyNot reported2
English Language and Literature/Letters, OtherNot reported1
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported1
Public HealthNot reported1
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical SciencesNot reported1
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementNot reportedNot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reportedNot reported
Natural SciencesNot reportedNot reported
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Applied MathematicsNot reportedNot reported
Cognitive ScienceNot reportedNot reported
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Communication and Media StudiesNot reportedNot reported

All 55 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges