Skip to content
College Path Hub

Indiana University-East

Richmond, Indiana · Public · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$8,134What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
67%
Graduation rate
42%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,589
In-state tuition
$8,424Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$22,811
SAT midpoint
1,110
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$47,156Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$8,134

Better than 90% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

42%

Better than 26% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$47,156

Better than 24% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$18,000

Better than 78% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$16,954

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$8,134

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Indiana University-East
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time42%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return62%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$18,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$47,156

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Indiana University-East by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$72,49145
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General$60,5136
Mathematics$58,76470
Business/Commerce, General$54,860Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations$47,114118
Criminal Justice and Corrections$45,20446
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$39,93632
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$38,61034
Communication and Media Studies$37,46329
Psychology, General$33,938126
Social Work$32,74814
English Language and Literature, General$28,92022
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported14
Biological and Biomedical Sciences, OtherNot reported13
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported7
SociologyNot reported7
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported5
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported5
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reported4
Natural SciencesNot reported4
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported3
Biology, GeneralNot reported3
HistoryNot reported3
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
Sustainability StudiesNot reported1
Computational ScienceNot reported1

All 26 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges