Skip to content
College Path Hub

Illinois Wesleyan University

Bloomington, Illinois · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$28,199What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
39%
Graduation rate
78%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,582
In-state tuition
$57,704Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$57,704
SAT midpoint
1,210
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$70,871Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$28,199

Better than 26% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

78%

Better than 86% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$70,871

Better than 83% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$27,000

Better than 4% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$70,700

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$28,199

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Illinois Wesleyan University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time78%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return80%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$27,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$70,871

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Illinois Wesleyan University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$75,62946
Accounting and Related Services$70,83112
Finance and Financial Management Services$62,61923
Marketing$56,68416
Business Administration, Management and Operations$48,706Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$44,92315
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$43,7374
Psychology, General$34,65025
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$19,49033
Business/Commerce, GeneralNot reported36
Biology, GeneralNot reported19
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported15
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported12
PhysicsNot reported11
Computer ScienceNot reported11
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported10
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported9
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported8
LiteratureNot reported7
Entrepreneurial and Small Business OperationsNot reported7
AnthropologyNot reported6
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported6
HistoryNot reported6
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported5
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported5
MusicNot reported5
MathematicsNot reported4
International/Globalization StudiesNot reported4
ChemistryNot reported4
Education, GeneralNot reported3
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported2
PhilosophyNot reported2
EconomicsNot reported2
SociologyNot reported1
Classical and Ancient StudiesNot reported1
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reportedNot reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reportedNot reported
International BusinessNot reportedNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reportedNot reported
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reportedNot reported

All 43 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges