Skip to content
College Path Hub

Hanover College

Hanover, Indiana · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$21,829What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
84%
Graduation rate
65%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,031
In-state tuition
$44,638Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$44,638
SAT midpoint
1,210
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$53,957Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$21,829

Better than 56% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

65%

Better than 64% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$53,957

Better than 49% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,250

Better than 39% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$58,821

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$21,829

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Hanover College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time65%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return82%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,250
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$53,957

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Hanover College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Economics$45,7405
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$35,08537
Psychology, General$34,52819
Communication and Media Studies$31,62123
Biology, General$31,32112
Business/Commerce, GeneralNot reported31
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported18
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported12
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported11
SociologyNot reported11
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported8
HistoryNot reported8
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported7
Engineering, GeneralNot reported5
Computer ScienceNot reported5
Engineering ScienceNot reported5
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported4
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported4
International/Globalization StudiesNot reported3
MathematicsNot reported3
PhilosophyNot reported2
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported2
ChemistryNot reported2
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported2
Theological and Ministerial StudiesNot reported2
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported1
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported1
Education, OtherNot reported1
MusicNot reported1
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported1
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported1
PhysicsNot reportedNot reported
Medieval and Renaissance StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Classical and Ancient StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Design and Applied ArtsNot reportedNot reported
AnthropologyNot reportedNot reported

All 36 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges