Skip to content
College Path Hub

Georgia Southwestern State University

Americus, Georgia · Public · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$12,019What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
75%
Graduation rate
36%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,424
In-state tuition
$5,220Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$16,572
SAT midpoint
1,080
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$48,757Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$12,019

Better than 72% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

36%

Better than 16% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$48,757

Better than 30% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$18,851

Better than 72% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$20,484

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$12,019

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Georgia Southwestern State University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time36%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return58%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$18,851
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$48,757

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Georgia Southwestern State University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$76,02544
Accounting and Related Services$51,89042
Business Administration, Management and Operations$49,76551
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$38,97330
Marketing$38,58022
Human Resources Management and Services$37,91728
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$32,7094
Psychology, General$27,06229
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reported10
HistoryNot reported10
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsNot reported10
SociologyNot reported9
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported9
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported6
Special Education and TeachingNot reported6
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported5
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported5
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported5
Computer ScienceNot reported4
Biology, GeneralNot reported4
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported3
MathematicsNot reported2
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported2
MusicNot reported2
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported2
ChemistryNot reported1
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reportedNot reported

All 27 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges